Rugby is one of the most physical sports. In the international arena, the top of the sport lies in the Rugby World Cup. Other tournaments such as Tri-Nations (including South Africa, New Zealand and Australia), Six Nations (including England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, Italy, and France) and the Heineken Cup are other tournaments that enjoy great recognition.


The goal of the game is to score more points than your opponents in the 80-minute time frame allocated for each rugby match. A team with more full-time points is declared the winner. Games can end with a draw. Read on more about Rugby rules.



Rugby rules


The game is divided into two 40-minute halves with a 10-minute rest period between them. The game does not stop the downtime and ends exactly in 80 minutes.


Each team can start with 15 players and up to 7 substitutes. Players who have left the field can only return if they have been treated due to an injury.



The field must be about 100 meters long and 70 meters wide with at least a 10-meter dead ball area. The H-shaped gate must be 6 meters wide, with no height restrictions.


Rugby Rules


The field consists of the following indications; half-mile line, 5-meter line, 22-meter line, 10-meter and deadline. Also included is the focal point to restart the game after scoring a goal, a penalty shot or a roll.



The game must have one referee and two touch judges. The referee’s task is to keep time, make decisions during the game and maintain order on the pitch. Both judges can help the judge make decisions and also notify the referee when players are in touch (out of play).



The game will be stopped if the player is fouled, the ball expires or he scores a try or drops goal. The defending team must face the player by grabbing the handle and pulling it to the floor. A competitor may not stand above the shoulder height, which will result in the referee awarding a foul.


When the ball comes in contact, the exit line is called. Up to 7 players can enter the line and each of these players can be raised to catch the ball. Both teams can compete for a win.


Successful conversion, penalty shot or goal roll only occurs when the player manages to kick the ball through the upper part of the goal. If the player is not successful, the ball is still in play until it exceeds one of the boundaries of the playing field.



Attacking players must remain behind the ball during the activity or risk being called off. Players who do not interfere with the game may be in front of the ball but must return behind the ball before they interrupt the game again.


Rugby Rules



Players and equipment in Rugby

 Each team consists of 15 players. The team is divided into two groups, known as forward and back. There are 8 forward (items include Hooker, Prop, Second Row, Flanker and Number Eight) and 7 backs (items include Scrum Half, Fly Half, Inside Center, Outside Center, Wingers and Full Back).


The jump is divided into three sections; one main area of the game that can not exceed 100 meters and two areas of dead gates that can range from 10 to 20 meters.


The jump must then be 70 meters. The goalposts have the shape of the letter “H”. They are separated from each other by about 5 to 6 meters without any height restrictions.


Footwear with studs can be worn together with gum guards, head protectors, shoulder pads and shin pads. Each team must wear the same colored shirts with fitted shorts and socks.



Punctation Rugby rules

Points can be earned in one of four ways. The attempt is granted when the player places the ball in the dead-end of the opponent behind the goal. 5 points have been awarded. A conversion is a free-kick, which the team receives after trying to earn 2 bonus points.


A successful kick must pass between the upper posts and the top bar on the goal. The penalty will give the team three points and will be awarded to the team when the opposing team will cause the violation. A goal with a drop can be thrown out of hand, as long as the ball bounces first and can score a team of 3 points.